Trials and Tribulations of Blogging


not quite at this level yet

I just want to preface this post by saying that I wrote most of this post last night- and couldn’t figure out how to actually post it until just a few minutes ago.  I was too stubborn to ask for help and made myself figure it out on my own.  My blogging skills need some work. But I found out about embedded hyperlinks so that’s a step in the right direction. 

I was clicking around the blog called Let’s Get Ethical and immediately noticed two things:  creative titles, and cool pictures.  Both of these components of each blog post drew my attention and made me want to at least read the 4 sentences or so that were visible.  I think it’s great that a little bit of the blog entry is shown on the main page, without having to click on the title and be taken to a separate page.  

A read more tag!  Awesome.

I also like the Wall of Fame section.  Halley Thomas’ blog entry is pretty fantastic and I am glad I got to read it. I probably wouldn’t have looked at it if I hadn’t wandered over to the wall of fame tab.  I vote to include this in ours.  

I’m still a stranger to tags and their role in connecting blogs, but the floating box of fun words and hyperlinks is pretty cool on this blog.  Why are the words different sizes and who decides this?  It’s kind of a cool way to see a preview of all of the types of posts that are in that blog.  

Also, I am not sure if we get to have a say in this, but I liked the background layout of Let’s Get Ethical the best.  The nature picture headers on some of the other blogs were pretty, and I like nature, but the stars in the background just seems like more fun.  The format of this one is also kind of different from most of the typical blog formats I’ve seen, which I think would be cool too.

One thought on “Trials and Tribulations of Blogging”

  1. I really like the theme for torching the mundane too.

    I enjoyed all your comments.

    Yes, you do get a say in the theme, especially if you are on an early blog council.

    Hooray for stubbornness and the read more tag!

    Like

Leave a Reply

