Why Hello There Nap Rooms!!


Nap rooms? Happy hours? Nice managers? SIGN ME UP!!!!

Zappos, which was acquired by Amazon in 2009, showed up and shined on the Fortune 100 Top Companies to work for. And why shouldn’t it with nap rooms? People get to lead parades, everyone gets a cubicle (yay?), and the managers hold regular one-on-ones with employees to ensure they know them personally. In the article one employee even said “I may have issues outside of work that can stress me out but when I come to work, I forget about my issues because my job is fun and the people here are fun.” Seriously, what can I do to work here? The only downside I’ve heard is that there is no graduating from a cubicle!

What is even better is that employees report “9 out of 10 managers acting ethically and honestly.” A company built on trust is going to get better work from its employees simply because of the psychological idea that if someone who is honest is relying on you, then you cannot let them down. It’s an excellent management strategy and causes me to wonder how much they teach versus how much that is simply the attitude of the people who are hired. It would seem it is possible for managers to have ethical practices while also being a part of a large company and successful business.

This report of this utopia couldn’t be true…could it? There are reports of other companies being awesome to work at but then you Google the company and bam! the first five results are the newest articles on how an old employee came forward with some negative information. Thus, I went to Glass Door to see what the reviews were. Out of 164, it was difficult to find a negative review, which is incredible.

Zappos truly is doing something special with the manner their company is run and with the people they are hiring. After some research I say it’s time to visit the website and look to see what job openings are available!

7 thoughts on “Why Hello There Nap Rooms!!”

  1. Sounds like Zappos has a pretty good setup. My only question would be: Is 9/10 (90%) of managers acting ethically actually a positive statistic? I feel as though if 1-out-of-10 of managers act unethically across the entire company, that could be a real problem for Zappos. However, I have no idea how this study was conducted and how accurately it portrays the ethics of Zappos’s management.

    Like

  2. I concur, that was actually one of the issues I did have with the article when I initially read it. It would be interesting to know some of the details about the study as well as what the definition of “ethical” was.

    Like

  3. Hi Kate!
    I’ve always heard that Zappos is a kickass place to work for but like you, I’ve also wondered if there is anything hidden about these “miracle companies”. The fact that Zappos is doing well financially while still maintaining a stellar reputation for customer service and the way they treat their employees shows to me that making money and treating stakeholders well is not an “either\or” situation.
    I’m curious, do you think that Zappos would profit more from trying to squeeze more from their employees by removing certain amenities (see youu nap rooms) or are they actually successful because of them due to the increased productivity?

    Like

  4. Actually Vlad, I think the nap rooms and casual atmosphere of the Zappos campus is what makes the entire company a success! Keeping employee morale up in that manner can hardly be a bad thing!

    Like

  5. Kate, this place sounds like it knows what it’s doing. In addition to their financial success, Zappos internal tactics seem to be a key component to their success. I have never heard of anything quite like the tactic that Zappos uses with its employees, but I think its genius! By getting to know their employees personally I truly believe employees are more inclined to, as you mention, “not let them down.” In regards to their managers. By doing this, I believe not only can companies attain significant success, but so can the education system. Maybe if teachers were required to get to know each of their individual students on a personal level, then maybe students would be more inclined to not let them (teachers) down. This may seem as a strange concept, but I personally feel like I endeavor to do better in classes that I personally know my professors as a sign of respect. Perhaps this may seem a bit rigorous and extreme for teachers to do, but as country that ranks extremely poorly in the education system in comparison to other countries, this might not be a bad idea. Here is a link that shows how poorly US students did in a variety of subjects in comparison to other international students. http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/12/03/248329823/u-s-high-school-students-slide-in-math-reading-science

    Like

  6. Interesting choice, Kate! I had no idea that Zappos had a great work environment. I very much agree that a company built on trust is going to have more productive employees. This is the reason why I ultimately decided to accept the job that I chose for after graduation. While I could have gone with a Big 4 accounting firm, I knew that I would not be happy in such an environment, and that my work product would therefore not be as great as it could be in an environment that I felt comfortable in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

