Say vs. Do


Let me start off by saying by acknowledging how much I enjoyed Ed Freeman’s lecture. After reading several of his works I was definitely intrigued to listen to what he had to say, but in no way thought it was going to be as interesting as it was. I felt that his lecture was very down to earth and relatable. I especially enjoyed his use of examples of companies that I was familiar with.

Although I did not get to ask my question someone in the crowd asked a very similar one. I wanted to ask Ed Freeman how one identifies a company that prioritizes ethics and takes their stakeholders interests into serious consideration when making decisions. I found the question that most closely related to this was the one about when interviewing with companies how do you identify the ones that are more stakeholder oriented than shareholder. I found Freeman’s response to be very clear and wise. He said “look at what they do rather than what they say”. He acknowledged how companies will show you pamphlets of their company mission and more information about them. He said that’s when you ask to see their budget. By doing this you can see where they are REALLY allocating their resources and whether or not they are all talk or actually follow through with what they say they do. Being a younger adult who will soon venture into the professional business world I found this to be great advice to have in my back pocket and keep in mind when interviewing with companies.

Leave a Reply

