So Much to Learn About the Great F. Scott Fitzgerald


What do you think it would be like to leave your mark on the world in a way that even far after you are gone your literary works are so respected and well-known by many people? What would it be like to contribute something so timeless to the world? After reading those two questions you must think I know everything there is to know about F. Scott Fitzgerald….BUT I have only read one of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s works, The Great Gatsby and despite my love and many viewings of the latest movie edition of The Great Gatsby, I don’t think that quite qualifies as a second.

For some reason in the past two years I have come across a lot of his quotes and they often provide me with motivation and inspiration. I love how his words and thoughts are still so relevant and applicable to my personal life. Somehow whenever I am on the internet browsing whether its on Pintrest, Tumblr, or Etsy I come across a quote of his and always can relate it to something that is going on in my life and I always seem to read it when I need a pick me up. Although I understand and recognize that there have been many individuals that have made their mark on the world, for some reason I am extremely intrigued by F.Scott Fitzgerald. I can’t quite describe why I am so intrigued. Perhaps it is because The Great Gatsby was the first mandatory book that I thoroughly enjoyed in high school. The story that he told was unlike any other I had read and opened my eyes to a time period that seemed alive and hopeful. That seems to be a common theme of Fitzgerald’s quotes as well…optimistic and personal opportunity. The parties that Gatsby threw for Daisy were extraordinary and make me question how Fitzgerald created such a plot that was so intricate and provides his audience with such a hopeful and romantic outlook on soul mates.

daisy

“For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

The quote above is one of my favorites and I love Fitzgerald’s emphasis on opportunity and living a life that you are proud of. These values and goals that Fitzgerald speaks about are ones that have been instilled in me since a young age. I think that connecting with someone with similar values would be such an amazing experience, especially one I know little about because there is just so much to learn!

I guess what I’m getting at is I would like to have dinner with Fitzgerald because he is an individual that I know little about, but whenever I see any of his quotes or after reading The Great Gatsby, I have so much respect for. I would love to talk to him about his outlook on life and what motivated him on a daily basis. I would hope to learn more about the plot of The Great Gatsby and if it linked to a personal story or love of his.

6 thoughts on “So Much to Learn About the Great F. Scott Fitzgerald”

  1. I very much agree that Fitzgerald is still a highly relevant figure today. I wrote a research paper on him and his book “Tender is the Night” in high school and actually learned a decent amount. Did you know he actually wrote “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” as well?

    Like

  2. One of my favorite books of all time, and I hate reading, so that says a lot. I would definitely ask him if his life relates/ related at all to Gatsby’s character. I, too, would also like to know how he feels about being able to write something that is able to touch people of so many different walks of life.

    Like

  3. Great choice Morgan. I too found The Great Gatsby to be the first book I read in school that I actually enjoyed. Also, we’re in the same boat, I don’t know any of his other work either. I love how Fitzgerald winds the American Dream into Gatsby, and I would definitely ask him about how he views the past century of American life.

    Like

  4. Ok, maybe it has been too long, but I thought The GReat Gatsby ended on a more tragic note? That it is critical of Gatsby’s flip attitude and overly-smooth approach to life? Did I forget the novel’s point?

    Like

  5. Jordi you are correct that it ends tragic, but to me the relationship and connection that Fitzgerald creates for the reader between Daisy and Gatsby trumps the tragic ending. Perhaps this is another way that Fitzgerald expresses his outlook on life- that is it important to seize the moment because everything can change so quickly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

