Millennial Man and Amish Fella


After reading the blog prompt for this week, I thought it would be interesting to create a dialogue between two individuals from completely different sides of a spectrum. My two individuals are a Millennial, aka me and a member of the Amish community. The purpose of this dialogue would be to compare the lives of someone who performs almost every daily action with technology and someone who performs almost every daily action without technology.

For the purpose of the blog the name of the member of the Amish community will be Jakob. Disregarding the circumstances, which took place of bringing the two together, I believe the dialogue would begin something like this:

Me: “Jakob, my name is Santi, I’m a 21 year old college student from Connecticut who is currently studying global management and let me start off the conversation by saying the use of technology is essential in my life. I own an iPhone and a laptop, which I use every single day in order to complete my daily tasks. You could say, I tested very highly on the millennial quiz and if it wasn’t for technology I don’t know how I would be able to complete even the simplest tasks. I have a basic understanding of the Amish community, but what most interests me is how does the Amish community manage to restrain from the use of technology?”

Jakob: “Santi, although I was five minutes late arriving on my horse, I still made it here and did not need the help of any form of technology. Although our community is accepting of some forms of technology, we do not encourage to depend on it. This is because the Amish believe that technology, if left untamed, will undermine worthy traditions and change our religious culture. Mass media technology in particular, we fear, would introduce foreign values that would negatively impact our culture. It’s not that we believe technology is evil, we simply just believe its use is unnecessary and would change the people of our community. For example, do you think technology has changed you?”

Me: “Jakob, I do not think technology has changed me because I believe it has always been a part of me. All throughout my life I’ve had a smartphone, played video games, and mostly everything I do involves some form of technology. Although I may have become dependent on the use of technology, it allows me to learn of various traditions and cultures, which gives me the opportunity to form my own. I wouldn’t say that technology prevents me from valuing what traditions are most important in my life, but instead allows me to learn and choose which traditions I want to be most important to me. What if you had to use one form of technology, which would you choose?”

Jakob: “Sometimes when I ride up and down the road, I wonder how much faster I could get to and from places if I had a car. If I had to use one form of technology it would definitely be a car. I could travel back and forth much faster and my horses could save their energy for other tasks.”

Despite Jakob and I coming from two distinct backgrounds, I believe the topic of discussion would without a doubt be the use of technology. Each would argue their points as to why technology is essential and unnecessary, but each of their values would provide a completely unique perspective to the other.

9 thoughts on “Millennial Man and Amish Fella”

      1. Is it really so obvious that electricity is the first choice for someone who has actively chosen to live their life without technology?
        I think Jakob’s choice to have a car contradicts his religious choice to abstain from technology. It’s not like his religion has physically prevented him from purchasing a car. He has made the choice to live his life in a very different way than our own. Surely the Amish recognize their lives could be different if they chose to embrace technology. They have a very different value system…efficiency, as we in the technological world think of it, can’t mean the same thing in an Amish community.

        Like

  1. This sense of immediacy you bring up between the clash of Jakob’s world and yours is interesting. It makes me contemplate how our education would be so different without the immediacy technology provides. Jordi talked about the transition to this “sea” of information he experienced when he was a student, but this “sea” has always been normative for us when doing homework or writing a paper.

    What did people do before computers…or even type writers? Can you imagine writing Paper 1 by hand?…I’m sure people had way less homework and papers due back in the day because of the physical constraints. This initially sounds awesome, but think about how much more we can learn with the immediacy technology provides. The ability to share and create data and information instantly between people has progressed societies, cultures and countries pre-society-with-immediate accessibility-to-infromation could ever do.

    Dope use of clash of cultures.

    Like

  2. Very interesting dialogue. Makes me want to speak to someone with such different views on technology. I think that our discussion about sustainability and more specifically our urge to always accept the latest technology despite if its “needed” or not ties into this. Im sure Jakob would agree that we are too quick to jump on the latest technology that is released and integrate it into our lives.

    Like

  3. This reminds me of the television show, Breaking Amish. It focused on the lives of ex-amish after they left their colonies. Many of them were subject to scrutiny because they were not familiar with the norms of everyday life. Many of them struggle with this fact and return home. I also was reminded of Parent’s Weekend when my Dad and I got stuck behind three Amish carriages on their way to church. Needless to say, we were late to breakfast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

