Steve Jobs the Jerk?


Clearly I lack creativity.

Regardless, I imagine Steve Jobs had a domineering, “better than you persona”. While I’m sure I could Google his characteristics and find out what his overall tone was,  for the purpose of this script, I am going to refrain from doing so, and go with my instinct.

——

Me: There has been a lot of upset regarding the treatment of Foxconn workers who manufacture your company’s products. Do you feel as though Apple is responsible?

Jobs: Apple is not the company implementing the harsh working conditions in such factories, nor is Apple the only company whose products are manufactured in these factories. Plenty of our competitors’ products are manufactured under the same roofs, and I do not see them under fire.

Me: So you do not feel that Apple has any moral obligation to intervene?

Jobs: No. It is not our country and, again, it is not just our company’s products that are manufactured at Foxconn. We do have a committee responsible for looking further in to allegations, however. To be honest, we’re primarily focused right now on making sure that we are able to keep up with manufacturing enough of our products that are in such high demand.

Me: Interesting. So let me ask you this. Are you familiar with the Nike scandal during the 1990s? You know, the one where

Jobs: Sure.

Me: You know, the one where Nike continuously denied that that they had any responsibility to interject in its oversees contracted factories where employees who manufactured their products were being mistreated.

Jobs: Yes, I’m familiar.

Me: Good. So, do you see any resemblance between the accusations made against Apple and those made against Nike in the ‘90s?

Jobs: Again, Apple is not the only company whose items are manufactured at Foxconn. Why should it be solely our responsibility to interject? In terms of Nike, it was mainly Nike products being made in those factories, so I think that they had a greater moral responsibility to interject.

Me: Well, as a leading world company, I think that millions all around the world look up to Apple and have respected the company for so long due to your innovative thinking and power to do what no one else has done before. I know I personally am a dedicate Apple user because it offers more character than other brands. So, what would you say to all those loyal consumers out there whose loyalty is rooted in the company’s uniqueness and boldness?

Jobs: No comment.

Me: Ok. Now Steve, I’m going to switch gears here. When you and Steve Wozniak first started Apple in that garage, I’m sure you never imagined how big an impact your future products would make around the world…I mean, you have introduced and shifted the way humans interact. My generation uses texting and iMessage as our main method of communication, thanks to the iPhone. However, the rapid growth of iPhones, iPads, etc. has caused my generation to have less personal interactions and relationships. What is your opinion on where society is going from here?

Jobs: I do not regret the fact that Apple products have changed the way humans interacts. Nor do I regret the immense profitability that has been derived from Apple’s success. Societal changes are just a result of the great products that Apple has created. I do think that it is a shame that the values of human relationships are shifting, but that is just the course of evolution. It’s not up to Apple to prevent societal shifts or gear society in one direction or another. We provide the product, and how people and society use that product is up to them.

Me: Well thank you for your time today, Mr. Jobs. I look forward to seeing what’s next for Apple.

2 thoughts on “Steve Jobs the Jerk?”

  1. Cate you did a great job in creating a realistic dialogue. I too have the instinct that Jobs has that persona. I know we spoke about Daisey a lot in class and we were all very take aback by what we heard him report. I wonder if we heard this directly from Jobs if we would be more hesitant to pick up our Apple products right away. Imagine the main guy at Apple, a company that we are all so loyal to, saying it is not his responsibility to address factory conditions at FoxConn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

